No disruptions here

I love Japanese food. That is, I love the Japanese food that I ate when I first went to Japan in 1976. Things have changed. Fusion has come to be common in our world. I do not like fusion in my Japanese food. I will grumble if I have to eat it. Just give me plain old Japanese food. That is not to say that I don’t appreciate 洋食 or youshoku which is Western style Japanese food. For example, when I attended Tsuji Cooking School in Japan, the first lesson was a hamburger (blush). But it was not an American hamburger; it was a  yoshoku hamburger. In short, this means that it had a lot of filler including finely chopped onions and bread soaked in milk. The onions got sautéed until they were soft before you added them to the meat. I’m pretty sure that we used half ground pork and half ground beef. It also was served with a “demi-glace” (made from catsup and Worcestershire sauce) rather than on a bun. That was okay, although it was kind of a production. Nonetheless, Yoshoku is not fusion.

There is at least one other 365 miso site. You can find it here. Sorry, but it is in Japanese. It was thoughtfully created (in 2006) to be a searchable database of miso soup. You can search by season, type of ingredients, or just by keyword. It is intriguing. But it is not all appealing to me. In today’s language I’d call some of these recipes disruptions. I am more of a traditionalist when it comes to miso soup, I doubt I’ll be disrupting my miso soup much this year.

Miso soup with gyoza? Maybe….  With kimchi? Thank you… no.  I also do not think I will ever be able to eat zucchini in miso soup, somehow….

Today’s miso soup: Traditional, simple and filling with daikon, aburage and green onions. Note that the daikon is cut into quarters. It balances well with the strips of aburage.

IMG_0544

Leave a Reply

