It’s just too darn hot

Summer has returned this week and temperatures are climbing and hanging around in the nineties. I went back to my miso soup guru to find out how to whet my appetite for miso soup when it is this hot. Perusing a list of summer miso soups told me what I already knew; either you use summer vegetables or you go for something mild and add something to jumpstart your appetite.

By evening I’m just going to want some cold noodles, so I made miso soup for lunch.

Today’s miso soup: I found an appetizing combination of carrots and tofu. That goes down easy in the heat, especially with a light white miso. The suggestion was to add a sprinkling of toasted sesame seeds. I’ve never put sesame seeds in miso soup, but it did add that extra something or plus alpha as they used to say in Japan.

IMG_0885

Leave a Reply

